Day 2 – 12th February, 2010

It was early when I left Devonport….. destination Stanley.  It was still raining.

Peak hour traffic in Tasmanian provincial towns, is like an early Sunday morning at home.  I really enjoyed the relaxed drive on these roads, only a few of which were divided.  The coast line all around Tasmania is rugged, and I tried to drive as close as I could, wherever possible.

The lady in the visitor centre at Ulverstone was very helpful in directing me to a lovely bakery.  I also needed some gas for my Trangia, but no luck.  Had not been able to get any in Devonport either.  Continued at a leisurely pace through the small settlements of Leith and Penguin, stopping from time to time to enjoy the scenery and points of interest.

Somehow, I missed the turn-off to Burnie, and by the time I realised, Burnie was well behind me.  In Wynyard I once again went shopping for some gas, but alas, things were not looking too good.   Seemed like I would have to continue to use Metholated Spirits to get the Trangia going.

The rest area and view point at Three Sisters beckoned, and I stopped for a cuppa.  While waiting for the kettle to boil, I took in the views and listened to the water washing up against the rocks.   The sun had come out, and it was a lovely place to relax with a cuppa, and my book.

The view at Three Sisters Nature Reserve rest area

Before I reached Stanley, there was a sign by the road pointing to Dip Falls.  I thought I would go and check it out, but failed to look at the distance.  On the other hand, I am glad I did not, as it may have deterred me from going.  It was a good gravel road, which became more of a poor gravel road / bush track as I neared the Dip Falls Reserve.

The falls, though not spectacular, were quite nice surrounded by bush of giant gum trees.  There was a viewing platform right by the road which overlooks the falls.  The whole area here is volcanic and the base of the falls is a tessalated rock formation.  It was most relaxing standing there, just watching that water fall.

Dip Falls

And it was a relaxing time I was planning on.  I drove the almost 30kms back to the highway.  Driving back roads is always so pleasant.  No one speeds!

Now it was on to Stanley.

As I drove along the highway, I got the first view of what Stanley is known for….. The Nut!  (Pictured in the header.)   The village of Stanley lies nestled beneath this volcanic core.  As well as the paths which take one to the top, there is a chairlift.  I believe the views from up there are great, but I was not able to even make it to the chairlift, let alone walk around on top.

The 12 bed Stanley hostel is a free-standing building in the centre of the caravan park.  This beach side resort caters for tents, caravans and campervans, and has a variety of cabins, as well as the hostel.   The hostel is completely self contained with a well equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge, and six bedrooms.   The whole place was clean and welcoming, and obviously well cared for.

Leave a Reply

